District 24 Teachers Bargaining Unit

Annual Student Achievement Award Winners Announced

Friday December 1 2017

OSSTF District 24 is so pleased to announce our District winners in the 2017/18 Marion Drysdale Student Achievement Awards Contest. District winners will now be entered for judging at the Regional and Provincial winners. Provincial winners can win a $1,000.00 prize. This year's theme was What's YOUR Super Power?

This year's District winners are:

A. Prose and Poetry Division

Category 1: Prose and Poetry, Intermediate, 9-10 Academic:
Savannah Slimmon from CHCI for her prose piece "Adequacy Adorned" (Teacher: Lisa Kuruvilla)

Category 2: Prose and Poetry, Intermediate, 9-10 Applied/Essential:
Thomas Spencer from ECI for his prose piece, "Humanity" (Teacher: Jon Krys)

Category 3: Prose and Poetry, Senior, 11-12 University
Paige Sweeney from CHCI for her prose piece, "Superpowers" (Teacher: Conan Stark)

B. Creative Division

Category 1: Visual Arts, Intermediate, 9-10:
Anna Smilek from WCI for her diptych photography and painting piece, "All for One" (Teacher: Emilie Kalinowski)

Category 2: Visual Arts, Senior, 11-12:
Sofia Martin from PHS for her photography piece, "The Power of the Pen" (Teacher: Alexa Liebregts)

Category 3: Digital Arts, 9-12
Watony Guerra from ECI for his video piece, "Humanity" (Teacher: Jon Krys)